PROCEEDINGS / MINUTES OF THE FIRST MEETING OF THE RECOSTITUTED NEW DELHI MUNICIPAL COUNCIL CONVEND BY THE ADMINISTRATOR /LT. GOVERNOR AT RAJ NIWAS NEW DELHI ON 06/09/2014 AT 9-00 A.M.

FIRST MEETING OF THE NEWLY CONSTITUTED COUNCIL OATH TAKING BY MEMBERS

In exercise of the powers conferred by Sub-section (1) of Section 3 and Section 4 of the New Delhi Municipal Council Act, 1994 (44 of 1994), the Ministry of Home Affairs, Govt. of India, vide their Notification dated 5^{th} September, 2014 have reconstituted the Council (See Annexure at pages 3 – 8).

Hon'ble Lt. Governor / Administrator of the National Capital Territory of Delhi has convened the first meeting of the Council, under Section 22 of the said Act, on 06.09.2014 at 9-00 A.M.

It is proposed that Hon'ble Lt. Governor / Administrator may administer oath to the Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and Members of the newly constituted Council, as per the provisions contained in Section 7 of NDMC Act, 1994.

COUNCIL'S DECISION

The Notification dated 5th September, 2014 issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs, Govt. of India, regarding reconstitution of the Council was read out.

Hon'ble Lt. Governor/ Administrator administered the Oath to the Chairperson, Vice- Chairperson and members of the newly constituted Council as under, in terms of the M/o Home Affairs Notification:-

(a) Under clause (a) of sub-section (1) of section 4:

Shri Jalaj Shrivastava, Chairperson;

(b) Under clause (b) of sub-section (1) of section 4;

- (i) Shri Arvind KejriwalMember of Legislative Assembly, New Delhi Constituency;
- (ii) Shri Surender SinghMember of Legislative Assembly, Delhi Cantonment Constituency.

(c) Under clause (c) of sub-section (1) of section 4:

- (i) Shri I.S. Chahal

 Joint Secretary (UT)

 Ministry of Home Affairs;
- (ii) Shri DharmendraJoint Secretary,Ministry of Urban Development;
- (iii) Shri Dharampal,Principal Secretary,Department of Land & Building,Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi.

(d) Under clause (d) of sub-section (1) of section 4:

- (i) Shri Karan Singh Tanwar;
- (ii) Shri B.S. Bhati
- (iii) Smt. Anita Arya
- (iv) Shri Abdul Rasheed Ansari

(e) Under clause (e) of sub-section (1) of section 4:

Smt. Meenakshi Lekhi, Member of Parliament, New Delhi.

(f) Under sub-section (4) of section 4:

Shri Karan Singh Tanwar – Vice Chairperson.

2. Thereafter, Hon'ble Lt. Governor / Administrator chaired the first meeting of the newly Constituted Council and welcomed the new members and congratulated them for their nomination. He has also emphasized the importance of being a member of the New Delhi Municipal Council, a premiere organization as far as the municipalities are concerned. He advised the members to work with dedication and zeal to further enhance the status of the organization, being responsible for the civic services and utilities in the Capital of the country. He has also stressed the need to make the NDMC area a truly 'Smart City' by the time bound implementation of initiatives like solar energy, rain harvesting and wi-fi facilities etc.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(NIKHIL KUMAR) SECRETARY (JALAJ SHRIVASTAVA)

CHAIRPERSON

ANNEXURE